If You’re So Smart…

… why aren’t you rich?

It’s a simple question that I’ve been thinking about for a long time. I don’t remember where I first heard it, although a quick search reminded me that I love Batman the Animated Series. It’s one of those questions that seems innocuous unless you tend to over think things like I do. So I started to try and formulate an answer.

Do I even want to be rich? Absolutely. Let’s not spend time on pseudo-philosophical crap like that.

Am I smart enough to become independently wealthy? Certainly. Anyone can make it big in this country. Even these assholes. So surely yours truly should be living the good life by now right? People tell me I’m smart all the time. It’s been my experience (and thus a proven fact) that people will give you all sorts of other insincere compliments. But rarely will a person call you smart unless they believe it. Since this blog is unconstrained by the usual rules of polite humility and fact-based proof, we can move forward under the assumption that I am, in fact, a brilliant individual.

Some people will argue that it takes more than smarts to get rich. But not really. All it really takes is some kind of idea, some kind of talent or some kind of product. Get someone to pay you a lot of money for it. Or more likely, get a ton of people to pay you a little bit of money at a time. Boom, you’re rolling in it. You may have already noticed, but if you keep reading this blog, you’ll find that I have a habit of distilling things down to very simple terms. Sometimes it makes sense, sometimes it makes me sound shallow or arrogant or stupid. Fortunately, all of those things are true to a point depending on who you ask. It works for me, so just try to roll with it.

So we’ve established that I want to be rich, that I’m smart enough to be rich and that I’ve pretty much got the basic formula down.

So what do I want to do? Ahso. Now we start to get to the interesting part. I’m currently employed as a computer programmer. A software engineer and tech services consultant to be more precise. It’s not a bad gig and pays the bills. There’s certainly potential for getting rich. In fact, the richest person on the planet does what I do. But I’m thinking of the kind of wealthy where I never have to get up early and certainly don’t have to wear a tie to get anything done. Ties are out.

I like movies, I could do something with movies (I literally had a Costanza moment). It’s a good idea and I’ve been working on a few things for a while now. But being creative is one of the most difficult things to do in my opinion. That’s probably why most movies are so lousy these days (that and the fact that decisions are being made by people with no filmmaking talent whatsoever.) All the more reason I should make one and get someone to pay me a lot of money for it. We’ll come back to this one. It may take a while but it has merit.

By now you’re probably asking yourself, “Wow, does this kid always argue with himself like this.?”

A) Yes.

B) Don’t interrupt.

Well, after many more rounds of the above insane chatter, I came to two conclusions. First off, I have no earthly idea what I want to do. And second, there’s really no good reason why I’m not rich. So… I’m gonna do it.

While I’m working on that, I’ll probably talk about whatever else occurs to me. Welcome.

5 thoughts on “If You’re So Smart…

  1. Right on. If you think the creative stuff is harder then that’s what I recommend you do. Life should be like running headfirst into a giant blender and stopping the blade with your teeth. The doctor would spank newborns and say “Will it blend?” and they spend the rest of their life making it down to the blade. Good luck.

  2. Actually, the richest guy in the world doesn’t do what you do. He is an investor, and he is notoriously cheap…..which is why he is the richest guy in the world……but I got your point.

Leave a Reply

